Boyd Rice Becomes NRCHA Million Dollar Rider

Boyd Rice Becomes NRCHA Million Dollar Rider


The NRCHA’s eleventh Million Dollar Rider, Boyd Rice, and BFR Igniting Sparks at the
2014 Hackamore Classic

When Spearman, Texas, horseman Boyd Rice won the 2014 National Reined Cow Horse Association World’s Greatest Horseman Championship in Fort Worth, Texas aboard his 2007 NRCHA Snaffle Bit Futurity Champion, Oh Cay N Short (Oh Cay Quixote x Bit Of Shorty x Shorty Lena), he became the only rider in the association’s history to win both those titles on the same horse.

Now, Rice has achieved another historical milestone: NRCHA Million Dollar Rider status! Already a National Cutting Horse Association multi-million dollar earner, Rice’s resume now also includes $1,009,381 in NRCHA money.

In 2002, the first year Rice qualified for the NCHA Futurity finals, he also branched out into the reined cow horse arena, showing his first Snaffle Bit Futurity horse, Deltas Color (Color Me Smart x Delta Flyers Bueno x Delta Flyer). They finished 6th in the Open and 3rd in the Limited Open.

In the years that followed, Rice steadily added to his reined cow horse resume, becoming a perennial NRCHA Premier Event Open finalist and claiming two of the association’s crown jewels: the Snaffle Bit Futurity Open Championship in 2007 and the World’s Greatest Horseman Championship in 2014.

Rice’s most recent NRCHA Premier Event paycheck came at the 2014 NRCHA Hackamore Classic in Pueblo, Colo. On Saturday, May 3, he piloted BFR Igniting Sparks (Shining Spark x Sliden Wright By x Smart Little Lena), owned by Beechfork Ranch, to 6th place finish and earned the high score of the fence work-only finals, a 148.

Rice’s NRCHA Million Dollar Rider status will be officially recognized at the Snaffle Bit Futurity in Reno, Nev., where he will receive with a commemorative Carol Owens bronze.  Rice is the eleventh rider to join the elite NRCHA Million Dollar Club, which also includes Todd Crawford, Ted Robinson, Todd Bergen, Anne Reynolds, Jon Roeser, Jake Telford, Corey Cushing, John Ward, Bob Avila and Doug Williamson.